Project Ibiza. 14 day fat loss diet.

So…..off to Ibiza in exactly 14 days.

Thought I would write a daily Blog of my diet, training and the results achieved in just 2 weeks. My aim? To lose as much body fat as possible and look good around the pool or beach. Shallow? No. Just doing to myself, the things I teach to you guys and I thought it might be interesting for you all to see my results and also the commitment needed to make a positive change in my body composition. The bottom line is this….all carbohydrates will be dropped, my protein levels will go up as will my intake of fats. I actually enjoy phases like this as it gives me a reason and a goal to train for and in a weird way, the stricter I get with my diet, the more buzzed I get. Maybe it’s because I’m willing to do what most people are not in terms of diet. Maybe it’s because I like the results at the end of it and I know for a fact that it’s because I like writing in this Blog. It’s possibly a combination of all three reasons. Regardless of the reasons why, I hope you can gain some relevant information from this Blog and apply it to your sessions in the gym and at Boot camp or to your “Beach body” diet in the future.

Day 1 – 9th Sept  – Diet

615am – 1 turkey breast, oven baked, and 25g of cashew nuts

9am – 2 scoops of Gaspari Myofusion whey protein with water, handful of mixed nuts

10.55am – 1 turkey breast, 3 florets of tenderstem broccoli (raw), 2 fish oil capsules

1.30pm – 1 turkey breast, 25g of cashew nuts, and an apple

2pm – pre training coffee (flat white, Starbucks) 🙂

2.45pm – Training – Delts and calves

4pm – Post training shake, 2 scoops of PHD protein, and a raisin & cinnamon bagel

6pm – 1 tin of mackerel

7.30pm – Sirloin steak, medium rare, mixed green vegetables

Day 2 – Sept 10th  – Diet

930am – 3 organic eggs, scrambled, salmon steak, baked.

1130am – 2 scoops of whey protein, handful of nuts

2pm – Post Boot camp – 2 scoops of whey protein.

430pm – Sirloin steak, medium rare and an apple, 2 fish oil capsule

7pm – Packet of pre cooked chicken, handful of almonds.

12pm midnight – Chicken kebab, no pita bread, just grilled chicken and salad 🙂

Day 3 – Sept 11 – Diet

11am – 2 eggs scrambled, 2 bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes from local greasy spoon.

2pm – 1 turkey breast, tenderstem broccoli and 5 capsules of fish oil

430pm – 1 turkey breast and 3 scrambled eggs

630pm – 2 scoops of whey protein, table-spoon of fish oil

8pm – rump steak with mixed vegetables. 2 glasses of red wine 🙂

11pm – 1 tin of mackerel

Day 4 – Sept 12th – Diet

8am – 1 turkey breast, handful of almonds

10am – 2 scoops of whey protein, teaspoon of almond butter.

12.30pm – 2 scoops of whey pre training

2pm – Training – Chest and back.

3pm – 2 scoops of whey protein and a bagel post workout

5pm – half a chicken breast and 10 almonds

830pm – Rump steak and 3 eggs, scrambled.

Day 5 – Sept 13th  – Diet

645am – Fillet steak, handful of almonds

915am – 2 poached eggs, 3 rashers of bacon, mushrooms

12pm – 2 scoops of whey protein, 5 fish oil capsules

2pm – 1 apple

210pm – pre training flat white 🙂

More to come today but in the meantime, here is the first pic I took on Friday last week, day 1 of Project Ibiza. I have tightened up quite a bit since then and will take another pic on Wednesday to see any changes.

3pm – training – should have been legs but didn’t feel up to it mentally so smashed arms in 30 mins before my next client in the gym.

4pm – post training shake, 2 scoops of PHD whey, 1 cinnamon bagel.

6pm – 1 turkey breast, 5 fish oils

9pm – Salmon steak and 10 cherry tomatoes…..1 glass of red wine. 🙂

10.30pm – 1 tin of mackerel, tablespoon of peanut butter.

11pm – wrote this blog

Midnight – Sleep…….zzzzzzzzz

Day 6 – Sept 14th – diet

645am – 3 scrambled eggs. (annoyed as had nothing else in)

945am – Packet of chicken (M&S), tenderstem broccoli, 5 fish oil capsules.

Didn’t bring any food with me for the day. I’ll prepared so at the mercy of M&S. Fortunately, they have everything I need.

11.45am – As I type this, flat white in Starbucks…..

More to come…..no weight training today, will rest the muscles but may get some HIIT done instead to keep my metabolism high. For those that don’t know, HIIT stands high intensity interval training.

145pm – 2 scoops of whey protein, handful of almonds.

3pm – HIIT. Consisted of 15 mins on the treadmill. Sprinted @ 18kph, walked @6kph x 6, then did 1 set of tabatas, more details on tabatas soon.

5pm –  2 scoops of whey protein.

7pm – felt really faint, blood sugar dropped massively and it was because i didn’t have any fats with the previous protein shake. Had a protein bar from the fridge at work which had 35 grams of carbs in. Annoyed at myself for allowing this to happen.

9pm – Sirloin steak, spinach, with cherry tomatoes, peppers and red onion

11pm – 1 tin of mackerel

Sleep.

Day 7 – Sept 15th – Diet

630am – 1 chicken breast, 10 almonds, tablespoon of fish oil

930am – 2 scoops of whey protein, handful of mixed nuts

11.45am – 1 turkey breast, spinach leaves, cherry tomatoes and red onion

2pm – pre training, double macchiato

245pm – smashed legs

4pm – 2 scoops of PHD protein, cinnamon bagel

7pm – 2 scoops of whey protein

830pm – CHEAT NIGHT 🙂  Cheese balls, steak, white rice and beans and 1 beer from a little Brazilian place around the corner from our Boot camp studio. More info of the benefits of a well-timed cheat meal to come. When utilized correctly, it’s very powerful. When it goes wrong it can ruin your physique over night.

10.30pm – 3 poached eggs, few almonds.

11.30pm – Sleep

Day 8 – Sept 16th – Diet

Woke up hoping the cheat meal had worked, and it did. I am a little leaner than yesterday and holding less water so slightly drier which is exactly the desired outcome.

Read more about a cheat meal here.

https://theultimatecitybootcamp.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/63/

8am – 3 eggs and a piece of salmon, coffee

10.30- 2 scoops of whey protein, 1 apple

11.30- Training – chest and calves

12.30 – 2 scoops of PHD protein, 1 cinnamon bagel

2.30pm – 1 turkey breast, handful of nuts

5pm – 1 turkey breast, handful of nuts

7pm – grilled chicken kebab, salad, no pita bread. Little chilli sauce

10pm – half a chicken breast.

12pm – went to bed hungry. Not good but necessary 🙂

Had a few pics taken after training today and BF measured again. The pics in my opinion are not good. The shadowing is not helping. I think I need to find another spot to take the pics…the locker area is just not cutting the mustard 🙂 They don’t show the improvement that I had hoped I had made so I was relying on the body fat measurement to give me good news. It was 11.8% so happy with that. It was 13.2% exactly 7 days ago. So now the hard work begins. Here are the pics – What do you guys think? Excuse me for the Bodybuilding pose at the end….I had to get that in there 🙂

 

Day 9 – Sept 17th – diet

930am – 1 turkey breast, 3 eggs and handful of cashew nuts

11.30am – 2 scoops of whey protein

2pm – piece of salmon on a bed of spinach, peppers, red onion

4pm – 1 tin of mackerel, 3 scrambled eggs

730pm – packet of prawns and 6 cherry tomatoes

Got a friend’s Birthday party tonight, the plan is to have 2 drinks, probably vodka and diet coke. That is the plan anyway. You know how these things go 🙂

930pm – grilled chicken kebab and salad before I got to the club for the party

10pm onwards – Had 3 JD’s and diet coke. Managed to stop after that so quite pleased with myself 🙂

Day 10 – Sept 18th – diet

10.30am – 1 turkey breast and 3 eggs in an omelette

130pm – 2 peppered mackerel fillets, spinach, peppers, tomatoes, red onion with olive oil and balsamic vinegar

4pm – 2 scoops of whey protein, table-spoon of fish oil

7pm – salmon steak, mixed green salad and table-spoon of fish oil

10pm – mackerel fillet and mixed green salad and table-spoon of fish oil

11.30 – turkey breast

12pm – sleep

Day 11 – Sept 19th – diet

830am – 3 eggs, scrambled and 1 turkey breast

11am – 2 scoops of whey protein, handful of mixed nuts

1pm – 1 chicken breast and 5 fish oil capsules

2pm – pre training flat white

3pm – Training- chest and back

4pm – 2 scoops of PHD protein and 1 cinnamon bagel

6pm – 1 tin mackerel

9pm – Sirloin steak, broccoli and tablespoon of fish oil

11pm – 1 scoop of whey protein

11.30pm – sleep

Day 12 – Sept 2oth – diet

Time to get really strict….

6am – Fillet steak, handful of almonds and tablespoon of fish oil

9am – 2 scoops of whey protein, 5 fish oils

12noon – 1 turkey breast, broccoli and 5 fish oils

3pm – 1 tin of mackerel and 1 apple

5pm – pre training coffee

6pm – training – legs

7.30pm – 2 scoops of PHD protein and 1 cinnamon bagel

930pm – 1 turkey breast, 5 fish oils

11.30 – 3 scrambled eggs

Midnight – sleep

Day 13 – Sept 21st – diet

6am – 1 chicken breast, handful of macadamias

9am – 2 scoops of whey protein

12noon – 1 turkey breast, 1 apple, 5 fish oils

1pm – pre training coffee

130pm – training – hit biceps and triceps hard!

230pm – 2 scoops of whey protein, 1 cinnamon bagel

4pm – 1 chicken breast, 5 fish oils

7pm – Sirloin steak, green salad, lots of virgin olive oil

10pm – tub of cottage cheese (randomly fancied it )

11.30 – sleep

Day 14 – Sept 22nd – Diet

Last day before I go to Ibiza. Will take a pic later to see the last-minute changes. I think you will see the difference. Its been pretty easy to be honest. The hardest bit is having lots of snacks to hand so the preparation at times is a drag but it’s what is needed so I just get on with it.

6am – 3 eggs, 1 mackerel fillet

9am – 2 scoops of whey protein

Thats it so far….check back here soon 🙂

12pm – 1 turkey breast and 5 fish oils

2pm – pre training coffee.

3pm – Training – delts and calves

4pm – 2 scoops of phd whey

6pm – 1 chicken breast, 1 apple and 5 fish oils

9pm – 2 scoops of whey protein, 5 fish oils

So here is the final picture, taken today about 330pm. Had my body fat tested straight after and I was 10.1% so very happy with that.  Over a 3% drop in 2  weeks.

Its 10.25pm right now and I haven’t packed yet for Ibiza and my flight is at 8.10am from Gatwick so I need to go but will update this very soon and explain the hows and they whys of everything on this Blog. I hope that this has been educational guys. I’m back to London on Monday morning…….The white Isle here I come 🙂

OK. So in this part of the Blog, I want to mention a few things on my diet and answer a few questions that have arisen. If you look at my diet you can see it consisted of very high protein, fairly high amounts of fat and low to very low carbohydrates. This is what helps you lose as much body fat in the quickest time. This is very effective and apart from the odd craving or two here and there, I never felt hungry and my calories were fairly high. There is no need to starve yourself when trying to lose body fat. On the contrary, by feeding the body every 2-3 hours, this will promote fat loss and keep your metabolism running high and energy levels will be constant.

Is this diet a little boring? The answer is yes. But I wanted results in 2 weeks so it’s what is needed. Could you maintain this diet for ever? You could if you were very dedicated and to be honest my diet is not a million miles from this anyway, I would just probably have a little more carbs every now and then. What you need to do is work out what your goal is in the gym, how much you want to achieve that goal and then do the very best you can to work towards it. This Blog was to show you what can be achieved in a short amount of time if the effort is put in. It was also to show you that the best results really do come from weight training and diet, and cardio is not the be all and end all, in fact, not really needed for fat loss. It will put the icing on the cake so it has its place but I really suggest you spend so much more time on getting your diet in order than getting sweaty on a treadmill.

I really hope that this Blog has helped at least a few of you in your quest to lose body fat. I enjoyed it myself and will continue to provide you with relevant information in the future.

Thanks for all your support 🙂

Gavin

This entry was posted in Fat loss tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Project Ibiza. 14 day fat loss diet.

  1. Kat says:

    there is no way you have actually eaten this!!!
    wasn’t there a curry on friday night that you have forgotten to mention??????

  2. Amar says:

    You mention in your blog that you are planning on dropping all carbohydrates however, you have been eating cashew nuts and a bagel, both of which contain carbohydrates. Did you mean you are planning a low carb diet or am I mistaken?

    Or, were they a cheat meal? 🙂

    • Amar, you make a good point, however, the carbs in the cashews are negligible and dont really count for much, and the bagel as you can see, was post workout which means my body will use those carbs and be thankful for them, and will ultimately speed my metabolism up further making me leaner. Also, the protein jumps on the back of the carbs as they shuttled in the muscles aiding in recovery and repair that much quicker. Hope that helps mate. Gav

  3. Fauza says:

    Gavin, this is a great blog. I haven’t been to your bootcamp before but I think it’s time I did! Have stocked up on eggs!

  4. SzeLee Lai says:

    Do you really need to get leaner? With the picture you have on last Friday, you are ready for the party even without the diet plan.

    Putting that aside, how do you measure your body fat?

    • One can always improve Sze lee 🙂 And its always fun to have a goal to go for…keeps you focussed i feel.
      We measure the bodyfat with calipers. 12 points on the body and this will give you an accurate measurement. We do this using a procedure called Biosignature, which was invented by Charles poliquin. Google him for more info. Gav

      • SzeLee Lai says:

        Too bad, you did not introduce this to me when you first trained me. As the result, I do not know if my body fat has reduced since you trained me.

  5. Tom Dyer says:

    Looking good partner….. Really impressed by your blog and the interest it is getting. Wait until this time next year. Making a lot of people leaner, stronger, healthier, happier…… great to be making a living, helping other to be alive!! T

  6. Toni says:

    Very good amigo!

  7. Kev LD says:

    Keep it up bud! Already looking awesome!!

  8. Lee Ault says:

    Great stuff Gav…very inspiring!!! :0)

  9. Caterine says:

    Hi Gavin! Very impressed with your blog. Its great to have challenges. See you tomorrow for another session. Caterine.

  10. SzeLee Lai says:

    “11.45pm – As I type this, flat white in starbucks”…..???!!! Overtime at starbucks? Thought the shop is closed at 6pm. 🙂

  11. SzeLee Lai says:

    What do u think of a tea spoon of peanut butter/almond butter before sleep? Is that carb?

  12. Its not carbs, its fat and is totally fine if you think you need it Sze lee. Almond would be the preference as much better for you…but that peanut butter taste so good….:)

  13. Rob says:

    Liking the blog, Gav. Good to see what you’re eating and the results you are getting. Keep it up.

    Unless I’m mistaken, you don’t eat any tuna? Any particular reason for that? I find it quite easy to get a tin of tuna in springwater, add some olive oil and balsamic vinegar and serve…Tastes great in my opinion. I have it for breakfast at work sometimes, after a 20 min ride in on an empty stomach – get’s a few funny looks in the kitchen though…Then I give a funny look back at those eating eating sugar coated cereals.

    • SzeLee Lai says:

      Do you keep olive oil and balsamic vinegar in office? I normally have breakfast first then cycle to work, and then have oat porridge for the mid morning tea.

  14. SzeLee Lai says:

    I always have Oat Porridge instead of protein drink at 10-11am. 🙂

  15. Will says:

    Gavalar – Have a great trip to Ibiza – I’ll be gone to Moscow by the time you get back so all the best. When and where are the boot camps? Will back in the UK from time to time so would love to come along. Will.

  16. Tom Dyer says:

    Great effort bro… Wish I was there in Ibiza with you!

    Big things planned for UCB in months to come

  17. Karen says:

    I must say, that’s a really strict diet – I need to live a little at least. I found no wheat, no sugar, low dairy, no potatoes – allowed sweet potatoe and butternut and I lost 5kgs in 4wks! It’s now stayed off since March and I’ve been 80% good and 20% bad. I’m back on it in a strict way again, so I’ll see how it goes. This goes with 3 times a week training….ladies I promise it works and it’s not that hard 🙂

  18. amy thomas says:

    bagels???? since when are they allowed on a no-carb diet???!!!

  19. Pingback: The best for fat loss! | ultimatecitybootcamps

  20. Pingback: This Stuff Really Does Work! | Welcome to Ultimate City Bootcamps

  21. Pamela says:

    Just cottoned on to this fitness blog….I’m going away in 12 days. What would you reduce for women in this diet?

  22. Gavin @ UCB says:

    Hi Pam, Just dropped you a quick email….get back to me if you can

    Gavin

  23. Pingback: No Carbs Before Marbs | Ultimate City Fitness :: London's Premier Fitness, Personal Training & Bootcamp website

Leave a Reply

