Placenta smoothie anyone?

So guys, here is the video. Press play and watch all of it.

I really want to know what you think to this. Your thoughts, opinions, whatever you truly think I would like to hear it. If you do want to comment then please do so at the bottom of this post rather than emailing me back, this way we can get a good discussion going and I can get back to you all on the Blog. I will hold back with my thoughts until you guys have your say. For many of you, this could the time to step and say your bit and get involved.

I hope to hear from many of you soon πŸ™‚

Gavin

This entry was posted in Weird and wonderful and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Placenta smoothie anyone?

  1. Ruby Heera says:

    hmmm still a little grossed out by it. be interesting to see the scientific workings behind it. borders on hannibal lecter a llittle, but the guy in the video is pretty hot so i’ll turn a blind eye (to the placenta, not to him)

  2. Thanks for the comment Ruby, I shall let Rich know you are a fan πŸ™‚

  3. Tom Dyer says:

    Rich is cutting edge!! I felt ill at first but kept watching

    I take my hat off to him!! There is sooooooooooooooooooooooooo much about nutrition that we do not understand and we have to cross certain lines in order to hit the next levels!

    They’re both right animals do this and I’ll bet that us humans used to until someone started to lay down social rules as to what is right and what is not!

    Post natal depression is terrible and if something like this helps and can reverse it then it makes sense to me. The logic all stacks up perfectly.

    I’m still not sure what I think to it all, but he’s certainly opened a door in my conciousness and I’ll never think the same about the subject again.

    Cheers Tom

  4. Jenna says:

    I think this is wonderful and a fantastic idea!!!

    The things that we go through day to day and put our bodies through,not forgetting what we are actually putting into our bodies i.e food (do you know where all of your food comes from?), antibiotics, alcohol, air pollution/especially on the underground….the list is endless.. This for me personally, makes pure sense!

    It is naturally produced, has nourished your unborn child to full grown health (a feat in itself- and a true miracle) and yet our image and society’s, of what is OK and what is not OK is obscured by the fact that it is viewed as “gross”.

    So therefore when my time comes .. you can be damn sure i will be drinking placenta smoothies myself!

    And hey its not like we are asking you to drink some one elses! πŸ™‚

    Jenna.

  5. Alia says:

    So I like to consider myself open-minded, but I really just can’t get my head around this.. I mean, would you eat your appendix after having it removed?! Or any other body part for that matter? Me thinks not.. However, I appreciate other beliefs and cultures, and know alternative medicine is something more and more people follow – so by all means, eat, grill, steam them placentas if it’s what you think is right! Finally, I heard in some cultures they use the placenta to grow a tree to celebrate tge birth of a child – now that I would do!! πŸ™‚

  6. Alia says:

    Oh, and Rich – major respect for you trying the smoothie!!! πŸ™‚

  7. Thanks for all the comments guys

    Mixed reception from various people. My take is this….

    Its only society’s perception of what is right and wrong that gets in the way of a subject like this. It seems like something gross to a lot of people as its not “the norm” but as Tom says, this WAS possibly the norm many years ago before society changed that. The health benefits have been proven and appear to really help in post natal depression. That said, I don’t see the the Placenta smoothie on the menu any time soon. Would I try the smoothie giving the chance? The answer is absolutely yes, of course πŸ™‚

    Gavin

  8. JJ says:

    Very interesting but surely a nutrient rich placenta will only be thus if…the mother is healthy and ingests a healthy, nutrient rich diet. As the saying goes, you are what you eat!

Leave a Reply

