No Carbs Before Marbs

I’m off to Marbella in a few weeks,

I have a couple of great friends out there and so it seems to make sense to get over there to see them and get a little sun and partying done. It’s been work, work, work and very little play this year. I’ll have worked 17 weekends in a row! Time to address that and get some balance!

I leave the UK on Thursday 21st June. Today is Tuesday 5th June.

Gav’s post from last year called Project Ibiza inspired me to do this.

I keep in pretty good shape all round and the purpose of this is to show the difference that can be made in a few weeks with a little discipline. My goal is not weight loss, it is to get leaner, while maintaining and possibly adding muscle.

I weighed in at 79kg this afternoon at the gym. I plan to get my biosignature done to see my body fat at the moment in the next day or so. I will start to get strict with the eating plan (diet) tomorrow.

This is me today, in bad light in my front room. I’m guessing I’m about 10% BF.

Ok, so I look ok. But not great! I have been working away a lot recently and a few beers have crept into the diet. Poor planning and bad discipline have taken their toll too. This manifests more on me mentally than physically as my mood and energy levels are effected when I eat processed foods, especially my vice…. chocolate bars!

I was at the Queens Jubilee Picnic and Concert yesterday for my birthday and the picnic was very rich. Here’s a pic of Mum and in the garden at Buckingham Palace πŸ™‚

It was a great day, made me proud to be British, and check out the menu below. It does not mention the 4 ice creams that were a bonus too. Oh and the 4 beers. And mums Red Leicester, and champagne….

After that day of overdoing it (and if you know me well, you know that once I start to eat rich foods, I have little self control) thought I’d set myself the challenge to follow a 14 Day FAT FURNACE type eating plan. We’ve had some amazing feedback from the plan that Gav and I worked very hard on, so thought it was time to take my own medicine, even though my goal is not to lose pounds as I stated before. We’ll have some of those testimonials up on the BLOG soon, best loss so far (to my knowledge) is 15lbs in 14 days!

So this morning I gave mum her first bowl of Oats, Vanilla Whey protein, cinnamon, milled flax and nuts mixed with cold water… that she really liked (which surprised her greatly) and I set about eating some meat and nuts. The healthy eating plan starts tomorrow but I thought I would hit the road running with good food choices today, here’s the break down;

Pre-Start 5th June

08:15 Chicken and almonds (with spoonful of Aliment Fish Oil)

10:30 Protein shake

12:45 Feta Salad starter (yes this is dairy, but I’ve not started yet) and lamb steak shish with vegetables. Glass of red wine (alcohol stops tomorrow and I was with mum!)

13:45 Pre Workout Black Coffee

14:00 Trained – Deadlifts 10 sets of 10 reps, some lower back exercises

14:45 Rookie move, as had no post workout shake, so had 50g bag of almonds (Gav will moan at me). Need to plan better in future

15:30 Protein shake plus scoop of greens powder

17:30 Turkey and mixed veg. Tbsp Fish Oil

19:00 A quarter of a organic celery

20:30 3 organic eggs and half an avocado

2 litres of water through day including Green tea and Rooibos teas

Boom, not bad really apart from the alcohol, dairy and screw up on not getting the post workout shake in fast enough. I am upping my good fats and getting in lots of veg and will see how I feel. So far so good!

To be continued!

This entry was posted in Fat loss tips, The editors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to No Carbs Before Marbs

  1. darrenstehle says:

    It’s awesome to read your honesty, Tom. You’ve inspired me to do something similar for my readers. Some people will look at your body and think, ‘what’s he complaining about?’ BUT you and I both know what you have achieved and what you can do with your body, AND how you feel about YOUR own body. If you are not happy about it, well, YOU are the one who can make the changes! Kudos to you.

    • Tom @ UCB says:

      Thanks Darren.

      I think the minute we get comfortable and back off, is the minute we start to go back in reverse. Everyone works with the genetics they were given, and EVERYONE can make changes if they apply themselves.

      I, like yourself, have spent years eating well, but feel I need a shake up and this is it.

      Cutting salt down is already proving a challenge, but I’ll feel a big sense of achievement once I complete 14 days without adding it. I found myself about to add tabasco to food earlier, but realised this has added salt, so had paprika instead.

      It’s proving a point to myself as much as anything. Sure many will say why do I need to, but it’s abstaining from a few things that will make me stronger mentally. I am fast to make nutritional excuses like, ‘Once I start eating sweet something I cannot stop’ and ‘one more bar won’t hurt’. It will do my system good to have a break.

      Thanks for support bro

  2. darrenstehle says:

    One question that you may wish to blog about: No food before your workout in the morning? Given your size, you don’t even consume a diluted protein drink during your workout?

    • Tom @ UCB says:

      I’ve decided that I will not during these few weeks. I will usually have something easy to digest an hour or so before a workout (90 mins if legs). I don’t usually do the peri-workout thing of sipping a shake or taking BCAA’s during a workout. I have friends that do and I see the benefits. Maybe it is something I need to add it at a later date.

  3. Gavin @ UCB says:

    Good work mate! Lets see you keep it up for 3 weeks, I know you will πŸ™‚
    Good insight into how the “professional” goes about getting lean…..funnily enough, its exactly how everyone else does or should. No magic pill. Just discipline and hard work. Nice πŸ™‚

  4. Rob says:

    All good info, Tom. I’ll look forward to seeing how you get on over the next couple of weeks. I have a question: If you had to choose between snacking on some wholemeal bread and humous or some fruit at night bedcause you were hungry, which would you choose and why? I get really hungry in the evenings and end up snacking on bad stuff. Any suggestions?

    • Tom @ UCB says:

      Hi Rob

      If your goal is to gain excess body fat then go for the fruit πŸ˜‰ Fruit is full of fruit sugar called fructose. Fructose raises blood sugar levels faster than sucrose (table sugar) does….. well depending on which fruit you eat and what it’s Glycemic Index (GI) is. Fruit at night… not a good idea. Fruit in the day can be ok, but choose the right ones. If you are not sure which ones are best then apples, pears, blueberries, lemons, limes, plums, apricots, raspberries and strawberries to name a few….. BUT a maximum of 2 servings a day and not at night!

      Now if your goal is to gain excess body fat then go for the wholemeal bread. Haha, sorry but if you want to curb hunger then bread, in whatever shape or form, is bad. Have the hummus (make it yourself, recipe above…. the supermarket stuff is loaded with sunflower oil or rapeseed oil and lots and lots of salt) and use vegetables as the dipper. My favourites are cucumber, celery or tenderstem broccoli.

      Hope that helps

      T

      • Rob says:

        Thanks mate, just needed it reiterated! I should know better….You have inspired me to invest in some hummus and I will not eat anymore fruit in the evenings. Well, after the punnet of strawberries in my fridge that is… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

